skip to main content

How to Print Posters in MRL

4/10/2019 12:00:57 PM CPLC Staff

4/22/2013 Jefferson Science Associates, LLC

Washington, DC – Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, announced that Illinois physicist Douglas Beck will share the 2013 Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award with Paul Souder of Syracuse University. The joint recipients were selected for this honor for their leadership in the development of the use of parity-violating electron scattering as a tool for the study of nucleon and nuclear structure, and precision studies of the standard model.

The award will be presented to Beck and Souder during a ceremony to be held at the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility in Newport News, VA.

“This award to Doug Beck and Paul Souder recognizes two outstanding nuclear physicists for leading distinctive and incisive physics programs at Jefferson Lab,” said JSA President and Jefferson Lab Director, Hugh Montgomery. "Both Doug and Paul have also been enormously supportive of the entire Jefferson Lab enterprise. It should also be noted that there is an implicit tribute to the builders of the accelerator which has the special properties required by these particularly demanding experiments."

Douglas Beck, a physics professor at the Loomis Laboratory of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign since 1989 following a research fellowship at CalTech, was the spokesperson for a collaboration of over 100 researchers for the Jefferson Lab’s G0 electron scattering parity-violation experiment requiring the development of a new spectrometer which Beck oversaw from conception, to design and commissioning at Illinois, to installation at the lab.

Beck has been the recipient of awards including: Arnold T. Nordsieck Award for Excellence in Teaching, American Physical Society Fellow, University (Illinois) Scholar, NSF Young Investigator, and Sloan Foundation Research Fellow. He is the Chair of the Brookhaven National Lab Nuclear and Particle Physics Advisory Committee and a current member of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics Executive Committee.

The JSA Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award, established in 2011 and awarded biennially, recognizes an individual who has made outstanding and sustained contributions in experimental and/or theoretical research related to the nuclear physics program at the Jefferson Lab. The award is funded through the JSA Initiatives Fund Program and managed by the JSA Programs Committee. It will be presented at Jefferson Lab when it hosts its annual Users Group Meeting in May. The Users Group is comprised of those scientists from the U.S. and abroad who use Jefferson Lab’s facilities to conduct experiments.

The panel charged with making the selection for this year’s award was chaired by June Mathews, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and included David Ernst, Vanderbilt University; John Hardy, Texas A&M; Robert McKeown, deputy director for Science and Technology, Jefferson Lab; Witold Nazarecwicz, University of Tennessee/Oak Ridge National Lab, and; Elizabeth Lawson, SURA chief governance officer and principal
JSA/JLab liaison.

Jefferson Lab is a world-leading nuclear physics research laboratory managed and operated by Jefferson Science Associates for the U.S. Department of Energy.

JSA was awarded the management and operating contract for the Jefferson Lab in April 2006 in a five-year operating contract from DOE that provided the ability to earn up to an additional 15 years. SURA was originally awarded the contract to design the lab in 1983 and operated the Lab for DOE following its completion. JSA was created by SURA and Computer Sciences Corp. specifically to manage and operate Jefferson Lab.