Dr. Ha Elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences' Class of 2015

Diana Yates

The Academy’s class of 2015, announced on April 22, has 197 new members including Dr. Taekjip Ha, co-director of the National Science Foundation-funded Center for the Physics of Living Cells at the U. of I.  The Academy membership encompasses over 4,600 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members and reflects the full range of disciplines and professions: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs, and the arts. Among the Academy's Fellows are more than 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. Nomination to the Academy is a privilege restricted to the Fellowship.

Dr. Ha is the Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Endowed Professor, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, a professor in the Beckman Institute and the Cellular Decision Making in Cancer theme leader in the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology at Illinois.

Professor Ha uses physical concepts and experimental techniques to study fundamental questions in molecular biology. He has developed new techniques that have enhanced the study of individual molecular interactions. His most recent work uses single-molecule measurements to understand protein-DNA interactions and enzyme dynamics.

Ha is a recipient of the Ho-Am Prize (2011), the Bárány Award of the Biophysical Society (2007), an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship (2003), a Cottrell Scholar Award (Research Corporation, 2003), a Young Fluorescence Investigator Award of the Biophysical Society (2002) and a Searle Scholar Award (2001). He was named a University Scholar at the University of Illinois in 2009, and he is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

The full article is available at my.physics.edu.