Dr. Taekjip Ha elected to National Academy of Sciences!


Election to the National Academy of Science is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive.  The announcement that Dr. Taekjip Ha is among those elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2015 follows the recent announcement of his election to the class of 2015 AAAS membership. Dr. Ha joins this years NAS select few, that bring the total number of active members to 2,250 and the total number of foreign associates to 452.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and -- with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council -- provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.  

Taekjip Ha, the Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Endowed Professor in physics, uses physical concepts and experimental techniques to study fundamental questions in molecular biology. Professor Ha has achieved many "firsts" in experimental biological physics--the first dectection of dipole-dipole interaction (fluorescence resonance energy transfer, or FRET) between two single molecules; the first observation of "quantum jumps" of single molecules at room temperature; the first detection of the rotation of single molecules; and the first detection of enzyme conformational changes via single-molecule FRET. His most recent work, using single-molecule measurements to understand protein-DNA interactions and enzyme dynamics, has led him to develop novel optical techniques, fluid-handling systems, and surface preparations.